In the Kitchen: A Week of Portions

With my husband’s and my new lifestyle, we’re dealing with portion control. So, I’ve decided to kick off the weekly “In the Kitchen” segment by showing what we ate this last week.

I’ll do individual articles for each meal, explaining what I used for ingredients and such, in case anyone wants to create the meal. I always cook enough food for four meals as I’m feeding my husband and myself for dinner and lunch the next day. So far, I haven’t encountered a meal that doesn’t do well as leftovers, so I have no fear of sharing plans and recipes. Stay tuned for hyperlinks to the recipes in the coming weeks.

Parmesan Crusted Salmon with Lemon Cilantro Rice & Green Beans and Mushrooms

Easy Cordon Bleu Chicken with Alfredo Pasta & Roasted Zucchini

London Broil Steak with Baked Potato & Salad

Grilled Chicken with Alfredo Pasta & Grilled Zucchini and Mushrooms

Surf & Turf (Steak and Roasted Salmon) with Green Beans & Rice

Roasted Paprika Chicken with Roasted Zucchini and Onions & Lemon Cilantro Rice

Spiced Honey Mustard Chicken with Roasted Potatoes, Onions, and Mushrooms & Salad


I look forward to doing this on a more regular basis with everyone. I’ll squeeze in a few dessert recipes when time allows. I don’t normally count calories, but these plates range between 400 to 600 calories each (guesstimated). I’ll do the math when I start posting recipes, but for the most part, I do things semi-homemade and between five (5) to ten (10) ingredients. I don’t believe in a meal that required over ten individual ingredients. I usually take those and make them semi-homemade with the help of marinades, which are the only things I purchase that one can call “processed foods.” You’ll see what I mean when I start rolling out with the recipes.

Until then –

Elle

This entry was posted in In the Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

