In My Head: Madrid & Barcelona

Excuse my language, but jet lag is a bitch. I hate jumping forward and backward in time. Why do we have time zones? It’s been one week, and I’ve yet to fully recover from my flight from Brazil to Madrid. By the time you guys read this, it’ll actually be two weeks since I arrived in Madrid.

Got picked up and shuttled straight to my temporary quarters. I have to admit, I do love having friends in different countries. Even if all they have available is a futon in the living room or a sleeping bag in a loft, they’re always happy to lend a hand. (Wish I could say as much for the few friends I have States side.)

Something I’ve missed since I left Madrid a little over a year ago… Tapas and siestas. Tapas are perfect for jetlaggers, seeing how many places are open late and well into the weeeeeeee hours of the morning. You can almost say they’re open 24/7 (almost). If you don’t know what tapas is, you’re really missing out.

The best way for me to describe what tapas is… Spanish dim sum. LOL Small dishes with about 4 to 6 bites per plate. They vary in price, and you can really rack the dishes up even if you only have a few bucks in your pocket.

They range from basic bar food (olives, cold meats, cheeses) to “drunken” food (rice, tortillas, hot meats, soups). My favorite is anything with octopus or shrimp, though I have to be careful with shrimp due to my allergy to shellfish. There was one place that had grilled octopus on a skewer that reminded me of something you’d get at a food stall in Japan. I’m not very good with Japanese, but I do know there’s a proper name for octopus skewer….


Enough beating around the bush. Here’s the deal:

I’m staying in Madrid until the end of the month; possibly a little longer if I can’t shake off this stupid jetlag. During this time, I’m just catching up with my friends and planning out my Euro trip with them asking 101 questions. I’m also catching up with my Spanish music. Things have changed a little since 2013 in the music scene, and I want to get my nose into the groove again.

I do have poetry to transpose from my notebook and send to Elle, which I will do soon enough. However, they’re really not all that great if you ask me, as they’re really out of my “field” of poetry. I wrote about my experience in the Amazon, what I observed, what I endured… really out of my field. I didn’t really do music poetry while I was in SA.

Any way, I plan on spending part of July in Barcelona to participate in an architecture tour with a friend who’s studying the subject in college. I figured I’d tag along and enjoy a different point of view of the city. Who knows, maybe I’ll find another style of poetry I can dabble in.


Just to say it publicly…

I’m enjoying reading the Promptly Friday segment by TA Rindler. If you haven’t already, check him (I think the writer is a “he”) out every Friday here on Short Stack Story Time. I’m not surprised he’s venturing out into the world of Sci-Fi short stories; many movies are doing that genre nowadays, and according to Elle, most video games take place outside of Earth. I always believed “the skies the limit” when it comes to literature, and TA Rindler is definitely reaching for the stars. I wouldn’t be surprised if he decides to put together a book with all his Sci-Fi stories put together.

I’m trying to grasp and learn from Dave Arenas, another fellow contributor and poet here on Short Stack. His poetry has a lot of depth and experience behind its words, and as much as I don’t like to admit this… I had to pull out a thesaurus for some of his words. If you think you’re an expert in poetry regarding theology, politics, and philosophy, I recommend you read some of his stuff to open your eyes just a little more. He definitely made me question what I’m doing.

I’ve got my work cut out for me here on Short Stack, but I know there are more voices that want to be heard, drifting out there in cyberspace. Piece of advice from one shy young adult (I think I still fall into that category) to you shy introvert:

I was terrified of having the Internet read my poetry. I figured no one would understand me or think I’m a good writer. Outside of my “closest” friends, I’ve gotten positive feedback from readers and viewers, and it’s inspired me to venture out more into the world of literature. I appreciate the support and the criticism, and I want you to know that your work is worthy of being read. Don’t be scared. Elle’s really a nice person once you start talking to her, and she’ll make sure your work is protected.

Let your voice be heard. Like Short Stack Story Time‘s tagline says:

Everyone has a story to tell.

Todo por ahora. Hasta la proxima.

-Poetic DJ

About Poetic DJ

I travel, I listen, I write. As a child of the "average" generation, I want to learn everything through personal experience.
This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

