Random Thought: Cayenne Lemonade Cleanse

My husband and I agreed that we’d do the cayenne lemonade cleanse together. It wouldn’t be fair if one of us did it, while the other ate legit meals. So, on the last Saturday of May, we started our cleanse, and let me tell you, I’m personally feel like I’m starving!

The day before (Friday), I went to the store and bought 40 lemons in order to make 5 gallons worth of the lemonade. I ended up making three 1 gallon batches to start us off. I juiced and made the batches, tasting each batch as I went. I followed the original recipe from the 1990s, adjusting it to match one gallon containers.

Ingredients: (for 1 gallon)

  • Juice from 8 lemons
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz of maple syrup
  • 1 gallon of drinking water

Directions are really easy. Just mix it all together. *smiles*

We’ve decided we’re going to do a full week and to start on a Saturday, so if anything happens, we’d be home for the first two days of the cleanse. *giggles*

I’ve already drank three glasses, while my husband’s kind of struggling with his first (big) glass. Turns out, for a “heat spice” guy, he prefers less cayenne pepper in his lemonade, while I need to add more to mine. This really comes as a big surprise to me as he normally drowns everything he eats in Sriracha. *laughs*

I’ll update every other day or so on our progress. We’re hoping to lose 10 to 15 pounds, which would put me in my goal range and place my husband within reach of his.

Wish us luck!!!

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

