Promptly Friday: Hyperion Gatejumper

Life has always been a complicated endeavor. From the moment we are born until we are returned to the universe, we are constantly seeking our place in whatever little nook we can etch out for ourselves.

At least, that’s what I used to believe.

Complicated doesn’t even begin to describe the day I discovered the – I don’t even know what to call them – rings, maybe? The aren’t really rings, even though that’s what every picture since has shown them to be. When you actually stand there and look at them, it’s like they shimmer and vibrate relentlessly. They look hollow, solid, flat, inverted, holographic, prismatic… I could go on and on. And that’s what they look like all at once, all the time!

These things, they exist within some multidimensional space. Our scientists were pretty confident, at the time, that we exist within an eleven-dimensional space. That physical life only interacts with four of those dimensions. But these rings, these gates, these remnants, they showed us how wrong we were.

Yeah, that’s right, they showed us! We barely brought in our computers when these things, which they referred to themselves as Hyperion Gates, took over and did all the work for us. They provided the information, schematics, and all necessary formulae to build and test what we were just learning.

The kicker? Their information posited that they have existed since before our universe’s formation. Something about being a vastly multidimensional construct and existing within every timeline. Complicated? I damn well believe so.

So just imagine how I felt when I stumbled into their valley. Back then I was a small, frail thing with long vibrant red hair. I do miss being that young, I was just a twelve year old girl then. I suppose the only thing that’s changed is my age, not that anyone is counting or anything.

I suppose I just wanted to vent for a bit. The Hyperion Gate’s tell us we’re almost ready to pass through them. We’ve done it before, but we simply moved from one side to the other, I almost fell down laughing when the researchers asked Kaeld what he experienced as he stepped through.

But they say with their help, and the development of greater technologies we’ll be able to actually pass through to the other dimensions, timelines, locations. I hope it’s true. I’d love to touch other worlds in other galaxies in other times. To see the birth of our universe?

They do warn that such a thing will change us. It will alter our existence. How? They won’t say. All they tell us is that we are ready for this, and it is finally time.

I hope everything turns out alright. If it does, I’ll be home to make your favorite dinner. Momma loves you, sweetie.

– Final letter from Marena Dlunres to her son, Gerric, before vanishing through the Hyperion Gates, dated approximately third quarter of 2367, nearly two hundred years ago.

The reports from the Hyperion gates suggest her status is alive and well with only minimal changes to her base genetics. Outside of Marena, her son, Gerric, is the only other human to have passed through the Hyperion Gates two years later.

Further investigation reveals very little else. Case remains open in the event either subject returns. Shall be dismissed if both subjects’ status returns as deceased.

Dr. Freedman Gage

Senior Research Chair

Dlunres-Hyperion Research Group

August 17, 2553

© T.A. Rindler “Hyperion Gatejumper” 2015

© T.A. Rindler Short Stack Story Time 2015

About T. A. Rindler

What dreams may come when the mind dances in worlds of imagination? Wordsmithing. It started as a hobby. Now I'm in the process of trying to make it something more than just that. My mind dances fluidly through imaginative world's both hellish and serene, and all that lies between. I've dabbled in so many ideas and interests, but writing has always been something that I would always return to doing. Whether I was writing a story, poetry, abstract thoughts, ideas, essays, or even written/online debates, I have always enjoyed the creative stream of ideas that spring forth. Join me in my journey!
This entry was posted in Short Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

