Promptly Friday: Remembrance 

Mommy always told me, “Be the best person you can be, and at anything you decide to do.” We were happy, I thought. I don’t really remember daddy, he went away before I could remember him.

But mommy! Mommy loved me bunches! We always did everything together; going to the park, walking Zelly and Nico, and painting! She loved to paint. Said it was what daddy and her would do a bunch before I came along; before he went away….

When I would be in school, mommy would be painting. Our attic was where she painted the most; it was daddy’s favorite place too, she told me. She said it was where she last seen him, and it was where I saw her last too.

I went to school yesterday. I just let mommy know I was going, and she gave me a big hug and told me, “Everything is going to be alright, sweetie. Once this painting is done, I’ll finally be able to give you the world.”

So, I went to school, and when I came home, she wasn’t here. She left a note for me, though. A note with teddy, and my favorite wooden sword. The note just asked me to “remember daddy” and to find her in their spot.

So, here I am. A ball of yarn was tied to the post when I got up here. Daddy’s unfinished painting was sitting here, but it looked like mommy finished it and now it looks really weird. But I’m not scared, so you know. Nope! I’m just trying to remember what mommy said about daddy and how he was.

He loved adventures! Mommy always called our walks and stuff, “adventures.” Well, I guess I should get going, Gramma! I love you! Don’t worry about Nico and Zelly, I’m taking them with me! You should come and visit when you get this message. I bet everyone would love to see you! Gotta go, Gramma.

© T.A. Rindler “Remembrance” 2015

© T.A. Rindler Short Stack Story Time 2015

About T. A. Rindler

What dreams may come when the mind dances in worlds of imagination? Wordsmithing. It started as a hobby. Now I'm in the process of trying to make it something more than just that. My mind dances fluidly through imaginative world's both hellish and serene, and all that lies between. I've dabbled in so many ideas and interests, but writing has always been something that I would always return to doing. Whether I was writing a story, poetry, abstract thoughts, ideas, essays, or even written/online debates, I have always enjoyed the creative stream of ideas that spring forth. Join me in my journey!
This entry was posted in Short Story and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Promptly Friday: Remembrance 

  1. Pingback: In My Head: Madrid & Barcelona | Short Stack Story Time

Leave a Reply

