Forgive & Forget: Don’t Make Me Laugh

I find that The Kooks has a twisted way of making a breakup seem so easy to get over, and this song got stuck with me when I was traveling. Not to mention, I love the music video! I’ve kept this poem quiet for long enough, and I didn’t know if I was strong enough to actually share this. I discovered that I was just scared of the consequences of if/when my ex would see it and read it. Since he’s too into himself to really pay attention to the world around him, here’s The Kooks “Forgive & Forget” with my poem, “Don’t Make Me Laugh”. Click “Play” to get into my cuckoo mood when I wrote my poem.

“Don’t Make Me Laugh”

Faulted and wronged

Yet I’m the one to blame

“I’m sorry” has become your default reply

For every bruise and every drop of blood

Yet the blame is on me

Dishes are dirty, laundry too

Chest puffed up like a balloon

“I’m sorry” heard through the door

After a scratch is dealt

Yet the blame is mine

Faulted and wronged

Hysteria strikes and sticks

For every “I’m sorry”

I break into giggles

Triggering another blow

Yet I’m the one to blame

Dazed and blank

“I’m sorry” is phased out

By four simple words

“Don’t make me laugh”

You’re the one to blame

© Poetic DJ “Don’t Make Me Laugh” 2014
© Poetic DJ Short Stack Story Time 2015

About Poetic DJ

I travel, I listen, I write. As a child of the "average" generation, I want to learn everything through personal experience.
This entry was posted in Featured, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

