Promptly Friday: Vacation Moonlighting

“Vacation Moonlighting”

“Ah, this is the life, Neil. I don’t know when it was that I last felt this happy,” Buzz spoke cheerfully.

“Well, we are on what could be referred to as the best vacation ever,” Neil quipped. “The only people for hundreds of thousands of miles is just us!”

“Then, it’s a good thing I stashed my cooler in the Lander!” Buzz kicked open the top, and it drifted to the ground, lightly kicking up dust. He reached into the container and removed a single green bottle and used his suit to pop it open. “Just kick back and relax for a bit before we continue this habitat here.”

The “habitat” is what they officially called it. The base the men had continued construction on was almost complete. It’d taken multiple missions to get this far, and this was the last trip.

“Before long, Neil. They’ll be shipping our asses to Mars!” The elation in his voice was nearly palpable. “Think about it. We’re taking our first steps as a space faring race!” Buzz excitedly raised his bottle to his face but stopped. “You know, before too long, we’ll be visiting other stars and new systems….” He trailed off at the thought as the Earth broke over the horizon. “I mean, can you imagine the horizons of other planets? It shouldn’t be long before we get to witness it.”

© T.A. Rindler Vacation Moonlighting 2015

© T.A. Rindler Short Stack Story Time 2015

About T. A. Rindler

What dreams may come when the mind dances in worlds of imagination? Wordsmithing. It started as a hobby. Now I'm in the process of trying to make it something more than just that. My mind dances fluidly through imaginative world's both hellish and serene, and all that lies between. I've dabbled in so many ideas and interests, but writing has always been something that I would always return to doing. Whether I was writing a story, poetry, abstract thoughts, ideas, essays, or even written/online debates, I have always enjoyed the creative stream of ideas that spring forth. Join me in my journey!
This entry was posted in Short Story and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

