Zwei Herzen: Opposites Attract

Introduction: With the roller coaster of emotions and relationship retreat, I went all the way back to Germany in my music. I do think that the only song I liked from Klee hit the spot. I’m feel as if I do have “Zwei Herzen” (Two Hearts). I’ll provide the translation before my original poem. Click “play” and read on. Let me know what you think in the comments. Thanks for reading!


“Zwei Herzen” > “Two Hearts” Translation

Two hearts beat in your chest
You know it already long since
You have loved and hated yourself
You have laughed and cried at the same time
Either forwards or backwards
Either belief or luck
Either everything or nothing
Nobody decides for you
Two hearts beat in your chest
Two hearts but not within the same rhythm
Two hearts, two hearts
You knew it
Yes you knew it
One heart full of fear and one full of courage
One heart is tender, one full of rage
One is young and one is old
Dumb and wise
Hot and cold
One is too quiet, one too loud
One heart hesitates, one does dares
Between truth or dare
One heart stays hard and one breaks apart

“Opposites Attract”

Years of friendship and play dates became for naught
As we parted ways, you to the light and I to the dark
Yet, through the fence, we spoke in whispers
Fearful of who may hear our words of encouragement

Shrouded by the shadows, I disappeared from your life
Though you never once looked back to seek me out

In my darkness, I evolved into someone no one had expected
Someone who barely reflected their former, weaker self
From the darkest depths rose a bright light that could not be captured
Unbound, I flew from the familiar and raced across the globe

Years passed, and again, I evolved into someone I thought was gone
Yet, my heart fell into the hands of one who made me feel again

The weaker self that vanished long ago returned with vengence
Forcing the hardened, fierce self to be caged for a painful romance
Caged and lust drunk, silent rage fueled my strength and courage
Until my weakness finally broke and my fury burned me anew

Now, I stand at our fence, experienced, patient, yet guarded
With my opposing selves arguing which side of the fence to fall

© Poetic DJ 2015
© Poetic DJ Short Stack Story Time 2015

 

About Poetic DJ

I travel, I listen, I write. As a child of the "average" generation, I want to learn everything through personal experience.
This entry was posted in Featured, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

