In My Head: Ecuador Bound

I’m starting my globe domination (kidding!) on April 1. I’ll be heading south of the Equator and well “South of the Border”. I’ve already told Elle, but I felt as if I needed to say it out loud.

I’m taking a month off from Short Stack Story Time, but Elle has enough pieces (I hope) to last until I get back to civilization. I’m heading to Ecuador for 2 weeks before heading to Brazil for a week and Belize for a week. I’ve learned to not travel with electronics, so I really won’t have any form of Internet while I’m away. (I got mugged in Brazil once and twice in Peru.)

I’m looking forward to my mountain living in Ecuador, and I’ve already sort of promised Elle that I’d eat everything for her. I’ll try to get some pictures, but I’m not guaranteeing anything, as I don’t carry around a digital camera when I travel. (Again, refer to the mugging in Brazil for that one.)

Elle asked me a good question when I told her about the mugging incidents: Why go back after having bad experiences?

Because I no longer travel like a tourist, and I want to experience the country. Why should I show my fear of a location because of one bad incident. I now know how to travel in different countries, and I know how to earn my keep through my music background. I know where to stay and where to eat. I got mugged because I was stupid. I had a giant backpack that advertised that I was an outsider, and I was snapping pictures of everything, which practically screams: “Look at me! I’m a tourist!”

If you really want to relax when you travel and have no fear, treat traveling and “foreigners” as if they were a strange dog and do as Cesar Milan says: “Walk into the room as if you owned the place.” Don’t carry around anything digital. My global phone is an early 21st century flip phone, and my camera is a 1980’s Nikon film camera with a short lens. Always travel smart.

Elle actually reminded me of something, and I still need to go and buy this item. I usually travel with 3 Life Straws when I head into what the “sophisticated” countries call “third-world countries”, and I need to get the water bottle version. Well-worth the price, I tell you!

Any way, I’ll try to pop in and do an update when I can, but more than likely, I’ll be on hiatus for one month. I’ll be heading to Portugal after Belize. Always fun. I know Elle envies my global plans of domination…. Do I have fellow travelers who have advice or “must see destinations”?

Ecuador, Brazil, Belize, Portual, Spain, France, Italy… for now. (Taking buses on Mainland Europe)

I’m getting excited, and yes, this trip means I get to put Toby on the back burner and focus on me!

Until I get Internet again,

Poetic DJ

About Poetic DJ

I travel, I listen, I write. As a child of the "average" generation, I want to learn everything through personal experience.
Aside | This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In My Head: Ecuador Bound

  1. Elle says:

    I’ll admit that I’m jealous, but I do hope you enjoy every minute of your travels. Eat everything for me! That’s all I ask for. Be safe!

Leave a Reply

