In My Head: Too Fast?

I’d like to see if someone else has gone through this because I’m dazed and confused about the whole thing. I normally don’t air dirty laundry on the web, but my mom doesn’t have any advice for me. She says (and I quote) that I’m “an adult woman, and [I] must make up [my] own mind.” Are you kidding me?

The woman who had everything to say against my leaving home at 17 to travel the world and live off of what I earned in the countries I visited has nothing to say. This is the same woman who traveled to Bangladesh when I wrote her a letter about the hostel I was staying at didn’t have showers. Now, when I ask her for relationship advice (she’s been a widow for well over long enough), she says “make up your own mind”.

Though Toby and I have known each other since childhood, I feel as if we may be moving a bit too fast. Two months of coffee “dates”/”hang outs” and movies, and sure, I said “sure” to him meeting up with me in Sydney in September, but he sort of threw me an extremely fast curve ball that I didn’t dodge… he asked for my hand. Not in marriage-marriage but to be his “bride for when we turn 30, and we’re both still single.”

I don’t like making agreements like that, and I told him so, but he simply told me to “think about it.” I’m currently 26… soon to be 27. Yes, I find him extremely attractive, and we never run out of things to say to each other, but that kind of an agreement? Can I get a pre-nup for an agreed marriage? Would you consider accepting the agreement if your best friend, who – just like you – is still recovering from a breakup, asked you to be their spouse under the terms that you’re both still single at age 30?

What’s the likelihood that I’ll still be single by then? Pretty good, actually. Him? Girls would be stupid to not jump on him. Maybe this “thing” between us is really just going too fast…. I don’t know!

About Poetic DJ

I travel, I listen, I write. As a child of the "average" generation, I want to learn everything through personal experience.
Aside | This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

