You Haven’t Seen the Last of Me: Drown & Burn

Background: Since my break-up, I’ve been fairly guarded with everyone in my hometown, and besides Toby and my mom, I’ve been pretty much a recluse with in-person contact. When I feel as if I’ve hit my emotional bottom, I find something that reminds me of my ex, and I get so angry and upset all over again. I had never watched Burlesque with Christina Aguilera and Cher until Elle told me that she was watching it. Though I laughed, she told me that “You Haven’t Seen the Last of Me” reminded her of me. When I listened to it, I cried, I said: “Amen, Cher!”, and after I write this, I’ll be burning everything that reminds me of the jerk. Toby’s even bringing over stuff of his ex-girl to join in the bonfire, while my mom said she’s going to the store for s’more supplies. HA! As usual, click “play” as you read my poem, “Drown & Burn”, to get into my emotion. Let me know what you think. Thank you for reading.


“Drown & Burn”

Years of emotional abuse
It was time to decide the future
After several blows of bodily pain
Suffocating on my own agony
I drowned in blood and tears

Months of hiding bruises
Time came to choose a solo path
Popped lip healing and healed
Chest numb with anger
I burned in your dominance

Weeks of forbidden packing
The calendar counted down
To the moment this caged bird
Would fly free and sing loud
I surfed out of your ocean of ego

Days of yelling and threats
Clock ticked away the minutes
Taxi stood waiting to whisk me away
The weight of your demands in ashes
I walked on your embers to my freedom

© Poetic DJ 2015
© Poetic DJ Short Stack Story Time 2015

About Poetic DJ

I travel, I listen, I write. As a child of the "average" generation, I want to learn everything through personal experience.
This entry was posted in Featured, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You Haven’t Seen the Last of Me: Drown & Burn

  1. Gabby says:

    You and Elle (as you know her) have almost the same experience.

  2. Elle says:

    Right? I don’t know how I find people who have walked similar paths as me, but I’m glad I can at least be of help… one way or another.

Leave a Reply

