Hot Spot: Bob Taylor’s Original Ranch House

As a treat on the first Saturday of March, my husband and I decided (back in January) that we needed to pick a restaurant we’ve been wanting to try, so a month ago, I reserved a table (you don’t have to, but I did… just in case.) at Bob Taylor’s Original Ranch House.

From Highway 215, you can see this seemingly little house just before the highway retaining wall hides it from view. On a good day and with the windows down, you can smell grilling meat from the highway. My husband and I had debated (without using Google) how to get to that fantastic smelling little house. The first time we smelled the place (from the highway), I asked him if he’d been there before. He told me he didn’t even know it existed. This is coming from someone who was born and raised Las Vegas.

I finally caved and looked up “Ranch House Restaurant Las Vegas”. Google corrected my knowledge by introducing me to Bob Taylor’s Original Ranch House. First opening its doors in 1955, BT’s Original Ranch House has been dishing out great steaks for 60 years. It’s western-theme greets guests from the street, as you drive onto a dirt driveway lined with wagon wheels and park in a dirt lot. The ranch house style restaurant is surrounded by tall, “really old” trees (my husband’s words) and is hidden from view from the parking lot (but not from the highway).

Following the concrete sidewalk, guests are greeted with a small green yard that I found very much like an oasis. A simple door marks at the end of a vine-covered walkway welcomes you into the restaurant. The place seemed a bit slow in the dining area when we walked in, but the bar/lounge area had probably 20 people sitting and standing.

We were seated quickly by the window with the view of the green oasis and next to the indoor open coal grill. While I would normally face the window, the view I wanted was of the grill. Turns out, the place wasn’t as slow as I had originally thought, as the 20 or so people at the bar/lounge were actually part of a big birthday party that staked their claim on the rear seating area.

Our waitress (I can’t remember her name for the life of me) was absolutely a delight to joke with and talk to. The wait staff actually reminded me a lot of my first waiting gig at Racing Cafe in Danville, Virginia. (I don’t think it’s still open….) Our server took our drink orders and we (a friend of ours, my husband, and myself) stared at the menu, even though we technically already knew what we wanted.

I’ll say this much about their menu. (I’ll even let you take a look at it here.) The prices for both lunch and dinner are very reasonable for Las Vegas. Both my husband and I have eaten at Emeril’s Delmonico in the Venetian, and those steaks were not cheap. Their lunches range from $6.99 House Salad to $14.99 New York Steak sandwich, and that’s not mentioning the appetizers. Dinner-wise, you’re looking at $19.00 and up to $50.00. (It’s all worth the price, trust me.)

My husband and I decided that we were going to have the full experience: Appetizer, entree, and dessert (last minute add, as we rarely eat dessert). We ordered the Cajun Shrimp Scampi ($9.99) as our appetizer, which came with 4 jumbo shrimp in Cajun sauce that was so good, we dipped our bread in it, and he (my husband) dunked his sandwich in it. I still want to know what’s in the sauce! For our entrees, he ordered the Grilled Rib-Eye Cheesesteak sandwich ($10.99) with steak fries, my friend got the French Dip ($10.99), and I – being the steak addict and self-proclaimed connoisseur – ordered the 16 oz. Top Sirloin steak ($24.99) with side salad w/ house dressing (it’s a more basic Thousand Island dressing) and House potatoes (think Waffle House hashbrowns covered… that just means with cheese). Dessert was a vanilla sundae for my husband and a big square of tiramisu for me.

The three of us agreed that this is a “must repeat” restaurant, and my husband and I are thinking about adding it to our once a month dinner date rotation between Red Robin, sushi… and now, steak!

For those who are wanting a challenge, Bob Taylor’s Original Ranch House offers the Diamond Jim Brady. A 32 oz New York Strip with a salad, 1 potato side, and garlic cheese toast for $49.99. Finish it, and dessert’s on the house. The catch: No splitting! We’ve already talked about me doing it, and my husband won’t let me. Oh well.

I’m looking forward to our next visit to Bob Taylor’s Original Ranch House, and perhaps we’ll start taking visitors to Vegas there to get them away from the Strip.

So, next time you’re in Las Vegas, and you want to see what else the Sin City has to offer, get away from the lights and sounds of the Strip and head north, where 95-N and the 215 split Centennial Parkway, and visit the folks at Bob Taylor’s Original Ranch House.

I give BT’s Original Ranch House:

forkforkforkforkfork

5 out of 5 forks

(a) Plenty of parking
(b) Personable, timely service
(c) Reasonable prices
(d) Flavorful, choice cuts of meat
(e) Ambiance of community and non-city environment

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

