Go the Distance: Coming of Age

Every person go through a coming of age, whether it’s family-approved or not. I was lucky to have a supportive family, though many of my travels were warranted by my parents as educational and “strictly for academic purposes”, I discovered who I was. Click play and listen to the Rendezvous Quartet perform their studio rendition of “Go the Distance” from Disney’s Hercules, as you read my poem, “Coming of Age”. I hope you enjoy and share some of your coming of age stories in the comments. Thanks!


 

“Coming of Age”

You call me a child,
So full of wanderlust and dreams.
Idealistic and extremely hopeful,
I seek acceptance and praise.

You urged me to spread my wings
And take a leap of faith
From the safety of your nest.
So alone, I ventured forth into the world.

I’ve seen Paris and Frankfurt,
The Parthenon of great Athens.
My feet have carried me to
India, Sydney, Hong Kong, and Okinawa.

The years sent me to Guam
And the historic Harbor too.
Yet, my roaming never ceased
Until my heart brought me home again.

With travels done, and accomplished,
I return to the roots of my youth.
With so many tales and wisdom gained,
I no longer search for praise from others –
I only need to receive it from myself.

© Poetic DJ 2014

© Poetic DJ Short Stack Story Time 2015

About Poetic DJ

I travel, I listen, I write. As a child of the "average" generation, I want to learn everything through personal experience.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Go the Distance: Coming of Age

  1. Gabby says:

    To all the wanderers, may you find your way home safely.

Leave a Reply

