Cups: Twist of Fate

Background: This one is a dedication to my older sister whom I never got to actually know. She left home when she was just 14, and I was 8. I used to make up stories about her when I looked at old pictures. When this song came out, I imagined her singing it, but I knew better. My mom has a news clipping of my sister’s death, so this song sort of took a turn for me. Have the song playing in the background as you read the poem. Music video is the cover version of Anna Kendrick’s “Cups” by Kara Della Valle and Grace Doty with the boys of Otto Tunes from Syracuse U. Let me know what you think. Thanks for reading.


 

“Twist of Fate”

Am I carefree or would you call me reckless
Either way, I prefer double-fisting a shot of Jack and a Bud
If you care to join me
You have less than a drink to decide

The moment I’m away
Everything will remind you
From the strands of hair on the comb
To my scent on the bed and pillows
You’ll cry for me when I leave

My carefree days and reckless moments
Will lead me to the grandest of places
From countryside to cityscapes
I’ll travel sea to shining star
but everything won’t look so wonderful without you

No matter where I go
No matter how far
While you’re thinking of me
I’ll be dreaming of the day
You’ll be joining me where I lay

© Poetic DJ 2015

© Poetic DJ Short Stack Story Time 2015

About Poetic DJ

I travel, I listen, I write. As a child of the "average" generation, I want to learn everything through personal experience.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

