Friends List

“Friends List”

Friend Request. Pending Response.
Confirm. Delete Request.
Seven received. Two confirmed.
Five still left unanswered.
Three are unknown
with blood relatives as common ground.
One is known
but with too much drama involved.
The fifth is known
but with too much angst included.

Friend Request sent. Why no confirmation?
A PM left to mull in the inbox. Why?
Because you struck out thrice,
and I do not forgive and welcome back
drama with open arms.
Lost trust is hard to regain,
as mischief is not truly managed
but merely subdued.
Friend Request. Pending Response.
Denied.

To be in my circle, you must truly belong
among my oldest of friends or blood kin.
Unless I married into your family or you into mine;
Perhaps, you won me over with your thrills
and your laughs. Regardless –
My list is sacred and true to a fault.
Everyone has my back, and I theirs.
When one falters thrice, they lose a friend
in a seasonal purge that has no end.

Do you have the power to gain a spot on my list?
Friend Request. Pending Response.
Confirm. Delete Request.
My value on friendship is deeper than the Trench.
Only few make it in.
Confirm.
Those who have too much baggage…
Delete Request.

© Elle Short Stack Story Time 2015

This entry was posted in Featured, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

