2014: A Farewell

Here’s to my final entry for 2014. I hope everyone had a wonderful year, and I pray everyone has a glorious New Year!


“2014: A Farewell”

As 2014 is coming to a close, I set my eyes on 2015.
Yet, I find myself halting my gaze to the year gone by.
I ask 2014 why things flew by and how life just blurred together.
In response, I receive:

A shared birthday in the first month,
A pellet and bruise on the neck to welcome February.
A stressed out third month, and
A fourth month full of happiness and joy.
A trip exotic in the month of May, and
A silent, blisteringly painful few months of Summer.
Followed by roller coaster of Autumn weather… and a blog.
A Halloween of witches and super heroes undercover.
A Thanksgiving full of good company, and as for the final month,
2014 presented me with a gentle Christmas at home.

After being shown my past year, I sat in silence with a smile
Spreading across my lips. Though the latter half of the year
Kept me grounded and home bound,
The first months kept me high in the sky and soaring in the clouds.

It’s only fair that opposites happened in 2014,
As one cannot be floating in thin atmosphere
Nor be glued to the earth for too long.
For either way for too long would suffocate one of existence.

2014 brought about my seed being planted into the ground,
While it lifted my husband’s head into the clouds.
Our family became united and whole under one roof,
and 2014 pointed us into the direction we needed to look to.
Not to the past, where our lessons were learned, and
Not to the present, where our lives are in routine circuit. Rather,
2014 pointed us to the future, where we shall build
Our own destiny as one, complete entity.

I thank 2014 for showing me what I have gained, and
As I look to the coming new year, I say:

Farewell, 2014. You’ve been so very good to me and mine.
Hello, 2015. Let’s see if you can do better than the last.

© Elle Short Stack Story Time 2014

This entry was posted in Featured, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2014: A Farewell

  1. Gabby says:

    I do like this closing for the year.

Leave a Reply

