A Christmas Wish, Part 5

At certain times I wonder and ponder if actors even respond to fan mail. I used to think: What if I sent a letter to so-and-so? Would I get a personal response from them? Would I get an automated reply from their assistant? Would I even get a response at all? This year, the actor whom I’ve always admired died, and as I listened to a monologue from his youth, I reflected on how a conversation – by letters – would be like if ever….


Dear Robin,

2014 is closing with so much negativity in this world that every time I see a movie of yours airing on TV, I tune in just to hear a joke or two to get me laughing inside. I just don’t see how you could keep such a positive vibe on-screen, off-screen, and all the times in between. I could use some advice.

Sincerely,

Your fan

Dear Fan,

The world’s just trying to figure itself out. It’s going through its puberty stage; confused, misunderstood, and no one willing to listen unless something extreme and drastic actually happens. I’m glad that you like my movies, but how can you put up with all the commercials? Think of life as a candid camera show, where you don’t know where the camera is and where the audience is, and you’ll find yourself goofing off outside of closed doors, and I think you’ll be fine.

Robin

Dear Robin,

Are you saying to “fake it ’til I make it” in public? But how about behind closed doors? I watched “What Dreams May Come” the a couple of nights ago. It still makes me cry. How your character sacrificed all that was good to be in limbo with your wife. What I really thought about were all the roles you’ve played on the big screen. I can’t think of any movie that you’re not the easy-going, glass half full, family guy. Is there a reason behind that?

Sincerely,

Your fan

Dear Fan,

It’s not necessarily all about “faking it until you make it”. You start out as faking it, but after a while, there’s a change that happens and it just feels good to behave a certain way. As for what happens behind closed doors, well, I can attest that things can go either way. You can see your darkest depths, but you have an opportunity to see your brightest, highest moment. It really depends on you. Isn’t it wonderful to be able to feel so much for a character that you become vulnerable enough to cry? I think it’s worth every tear. I love making people laugh, so I guess that’s why most of my roles are comical to a degree. You can’t think of a serious role of mine? How about “The Night Listener”, “One Hour Photo”, or “Insomnia”? But while I have a handful of dramatic roles in my portfolio, wouldn’t you prefer the more carefree character?

Robin

Dear Robin,

I forgot about those movies. Maybe it’s because I was too young to watch them. I think I do prefer the happier you. You know, it’s almost Christmas, and a movie of yours is about to come out. I’m really looking forward to watching you as Teddy Roosevelt again. I actually don’t know what to ask for this Christmas. Do you have any ideas?

Sincerely,

Your fan

Dear Fan,

I hope you enjoy every minute of “Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb”. What to ask for this Christmas, you say? Ideas… I have several, actually. Wish for laughter to ring out around the world from children who usually go without. Wish for growling stomachs to be filled with food. Wish for those, sick with an illness with no cure, to find peace and comfort. How about for families, broken by grudges or distance, to come together in happy tears? Those are at least what I’d wish for this Christmas.

Robin

© Elle Short Stack Story Time 2014
Disclaimer: This piece of literature is fan fiction. There were no written communications between myself and Robin Williams during his life with us.

This entry was posted in Featured, Journal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

