30 Days of Thanksgiving: Day 24

Think me shallow or not, but today, I’m giving thanks to video games. Before you stop reading due to your dislike for video games, you ought to know why.

As a child, I didn’t play a lot of video games. I got to play a limited amount of Duck Hunt and Mario Bros. Then, I got a black and white Gameboy to play Pokemon for a couple of years, but I got bored. Single-player, RPG games just didn’t cut it for me. It wasn’t until I was in college when I was introduced to EverQuest 2, and while I miss my friends on the game, I don’t miss having to pay for it. Now, there’s a free subscription to it, but it’s no longer the same for me. I played World of Warcraft for a few years, Even played Age of Conan and Final Fantasy XI, and there were Star Wars Galaxies, Guild Wars, and several Aeria games. I eventually get bored of gaming, but if it wasn’t for video games, my creative juices would not have been expanded into the world of fantasy.

I probably would’ve been stuck in romance and coming-of-age stories. I wouldn’t have picked up R.A. Salvatore’s Drizzt novels or gotten into Anne Rice’s vampire stories. I definitely wouldn’t have embraced my height if it weren’t for Lord of the Rings Online and Final Fantasy XI, where I was a Hobbit and a Taru-Taru (respectively). In all the MMOs I’ve played, I’ve always been some kind of a healer and some kind of cook/chef. Because of the games I played with other people online, I fully accepted my motherly and giving role (healer) and my passion for the kitchen (cook/chef) in real life.

I was always a social butterfly, but I never really made friends easily. I had plenty of fair weather friends, but when it came down to serious friends, I struggled just as regular people struggle to make average friends. MMOs gave me an outlet to make real friends without being judged in-person. They got to know who I was through my playing, and what I did in-game was pretty much how I was in real life.

Honestly, if it wasn’t for video games, I wouldn’t have gotten a chance to meet a few people I hold near and dear to my heart. Also, video games reconnected me with my love for history, art, and lore. Take for example, my favorite video game series: Assassin’s Creed. Ubisoft creators blended history with fantasy lore to create new stories that involved assassins throughout historical events. Consider it as the killer version of the Masonic order. The details in the games are insanely in-depth. The artwork and soundtrack that goes with each game is worth the price of admission and worthy of every applaud from gamer and viewer alike.

Video games are fun and can even bring people together when played in moderation. My husband only plays on his console for about 3-6 hours a week. When I was a raid player in EverQuest 2, I was horrible, as I played about 3-6 hours a day. I’ve gotten better now, seeing how my time on the computer is spent writing articles, working on character and location development, and/or talking to friends and family who aren’t in the same city as me.

This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

