30 Days of Thanksgiving: Day 10

It’s Day 10, and I’m thankful for my job and all the other jobs I’ve had in the past. Without my history of job experience, I wouldn’t be well-rounded in the workforce. On my journey to my current position as an editor, I’ve met my fair share of depressing supervisors, awesome team leaders, and crazy customers. I’m not kidding either. I’ve had a lot of fun, though 75% of the time, my career path was extremely rocky and hard. I have a few specific people I do want to thank personally within this section of gratitude.

I had loads of fun working at Chuck E. Cheese. I know, I know: “You enjoyed working there?” I loved the kids. The kids made the job so much fun. It was the moms that killed the job for me. The dads were hysterical! Stealing tokens from their kids or getting their own cup of tokens to play games. When I was working at CEC, I worked with teenagers (for the most part), but I was under a fun character of an assistant manager. Without him, I would’ve lost my sense long before I started to have fun. He was the one who told me to go out into the game room during my break and have fun. We got into a pinball match on our breaks. Thanks to Matt, I had an awesome one year at CEC.

Elle ready to help change out the oil

Chik-Fil-A is a nightmare and a fond memory for me. I worked there for one year, and I didn’t realize just how allergic to peanut I was until I worked there. Even though they use “hypo-allergenic” peanut oil, I was still left itchy and red all over after my shifts. However, I wouldn’t have traded it for anything. I worked with an awesome team of people, though I was one of the oldest working in the kitchen. Jonathan was a few years younger than me, but he knew how to keep team morale up and going into the night as a team leader. If you ask me, he was so much better in the position than… *cough* We used to make smiley faces out of the pickles on the sandwiches and try to out do each other in making the fries, sandwiches, and nuggets look good on the display stands. He made shifts into a game, a contest of weird sorts, and that’s what really drives me to work hard.

When I moved to California, I didn’t realize finding work was going to be a nightmare. If it wasn’t for United Staffing – for Carlos – letting me “show off” my skills, I wouldn’t have survived in expensive California. Yes, United Staffing is a temp agency, and yes, I heard so many bad things about temp agencies. However, just after 24 hours, Carlos got me work, and he kept getting me work every time I completed an assignment. It was because of Carlos that I landed myself on the solar farm where I met my husband. For that alone, I must truly thank Carlos for convincing me to take the job. (and Robert too.)

Enrique (center) at Elle’s wedding reception. 2014

Then, when I moved to Las Vegas, I was able to transfer from United Staffing – San Luis Obispo to United Staffing – Las Vegas, where I met… Enrique and Ray. Two hilarious, yet hardworking people who boosted me up when I needed it the most. When I was slipping into a depression, Enrique took a chance on me. A chance that led into a wonderful friendship. He’s like my “adopted” Spanish uncle I needed in Vegas who kept me going every day. When things started to change, I wouldn’t have risked what I did without his and Ray’s encouragement. Let’s just say, my persistence and success here in Sin City is partially thanks to the pair of them. For that, I don’t know how to repay them and can only say, “Thank you.”

Now, I’ve gotten an editing job thanks to Melissa and Kaylan, and I feel as if I’ve come full circle. I strayed far from my English Literature career path for a long time, as I worked cable back East and the restaurant business and got stuck in data entry and admin/clerical on the West Coast. Thanks to them, I feel as if I’ve “come home” to my grammar roots. Yet, without my extensive experience, I honestly don’t know if I’d be where I am today. No one will ever know, and I don’t think I want to know.

This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

