30 Days of Thanksgiving: Day 8

Day 8, and I must admit, it’s getting harder for me. There is a 2-in-1 Thank you that I have yet to ever consider and verbally acknowledge. To one of my longest buddies whom I’ve yet to actually meet in person, but he’s been part of my life for going on 10 years. I’m talking about the one, the only… Jesse. That’s right. The face and words behind JC Network here on Short Stack Story Time.

Part of thanking Jesse must start with thanking Sony Online Entertainment for EverQuest II and Star Wars Galaxies. “Why in the world would you thank SOE?” Well, because of EverQuest II, I joined a guild called Mistmoore Eternal Knights (MEK). Because of MEK, I started playing Star Wars Galaxies, and in SWG, I was part of MEK’s “guild”, and within that guild, behold!.. Jesse.

So, Thank you, SOE, for sucking so much of my young life out of me with EQ2 and SWG. If it wasn’t for you, I wouldn’t have met my oddball “adopted” little brother.

As for Jesse, if you weren’t in my life, I wouldn’t know how it feels to freak out not hearing from someone for 3-6 months. I wouldn’t know how to calmly respond to the “oh yea. I was in the hospital until a few days ago” text messages. I don’t think I’d have such a strong sibling protective instinct either, and you know as to what reason I’m saying that. I’ve seen your ups and downs, as you’ve seen mine, and you put up with my venting and ranting during the “dark days”. Very few people actually got to experience me during those days, and I’m quite surprised and happy that you stuck by me during that period.

Not to mention, because of you, I have a stubborn desire to get you to write more, so I can publish your book! Chop chop, bro!

I look forward to the day when I can officially scratch off “meet Jesse” off my “to do” list.

Day 8 definitely goes to my little, stubborn, annoying, “adopted” brother from another mother, “get your ass out of that blasted state”… Jesse.

This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

