Hot Spot: Orange Cat Cafe

Orange Cat Cafe team

L-R: Karen Kennedy, Bronte Diaz, Noah Kennedy, Riley Kennedy, and Taylor Diaz

There’s this little cafe on the corner of Cypress and Park in Pismo Beach, California, that serves up some top-quality coffees for a reasonable price for a beach town. (I will even go as far as saying that I’d go back to drinking coffee for this cafe over Starbucks any day.) Orange Cat Cafe is a local, family-owned and -operated coffee shop that’s named after the resident “orange cat”, Morris. You wouldn’t expect to see a quaint coffee joint just a block from the beach and a few blocks from the busiest area of Pismo, but this place will make you want to go back for another cup of joe… or in my case… another breakfast burrito.

cookies and cake popsOrange Cat Cafe was opened by Karen Kennedy and her family in June 2012, and they serve not just coffee but also iced coffee, frappuccinos, milkshakes, cookies, cakes, sandwiches, soup, and breakfast items, such as my favorite breakfast burrito. (Just thinking about the burrito makes my mouth water, and as a Foodie, I don’t get hungry from thinking about food.)

When OCC was in its construction phase, I met Karen and family as I was (at that time) working for local government. When the doors opened, I tried a few items to give them my Foodie three item test. breakfast burritoI had one coffee, one frappe, and then, I hit the jackpot with their bacon, egg, potatoes, and cheese breakfast burrito with homemade salsa. After the first bite, I knew I had found my new breakfast hot spot in Pismo.

I love homemade salsa with a little bit of kick, and their salsa has just that. You don’t get the heat until after you swallow, and then, you’ll feel the tingle in the back of your throat. It’s not a strong hit, but it’s enough for you to want to take another bite. The burrito is a good size too, and when they use the sandwich press to really melt the cheese… oh man. I’m really craving one now! Why do I have to live six hours away?

kittiesSeating is available at OCC, but you may have to share your table with Morris. You can find him lounging on the window sill or on one of the chairs, and when he’s not in the cafe, you can find him perched on the white picket fence or stretched out on the picnic table in the courtyard next to the cafe.

Syren adored Morris. She always wanted to go play with him, but Morris is one of those famous resident cats who have experience and know what they’re all about, and he never gave my young pup a minute of his day. Morris the CatI always enjoyed visiting the cafe and being kept company by Morris while I wait for my burrito. Along with Karen and her family, Morris sets the very relaxed beach mood in the cafe and is a great reminder to slow down and enjoy your surroundings.

That’s really the one thing I miss the most about Orange Cat Cafe: the casual, always welcoming environment. Karen’s always ready to greet you with a hug and a smile. I know it’s something that Syren misses too.

Syren with sign

Overall, I give Orange Cat Cafe:

forkforkforkforkfork

5 out of 5 forks

(a) Location, location, location
(b) Good food & drinks
(c) Adorable mascot
(d) Beach ambiance
(e) Friendly and welcoming service

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

