Random Thought: Christmas

I normally hate everything and everyone when Christmas is mentioned before Thanksgiving, but I must get this off my chest. I’m a perfectionist when it comes to hosting a gathering of any sort. Whether it’s a football rivalry party or a formal luncheon, I had a menu prepared at least two weeks in advance, and two weeks is my last-minute “I’m hosting a what?” length of time. I’m slightly OCD when it comes to party planning, and I’m not kidding. I had all the “must be precise” details of my own wedding 6 months before the actual date completed. The first Christmas my husband and I hosted (which was last year) went without a hitch, and I had it all planned with menu set in stone before my husband and my Thanksgiving trip out of state.

This year, we’re spending Thanksgiving at “home” in Las Vegas, and I sighed in relief when I learned that I didn’t have to do anything. However, I was sort of caught off guard when I was told that Christmas was going to be held at our house again. (We all sort of agreed last year that Christmas would be rotated between my husband and his sister’s homes.) So, I sort of felt thrown into the hot seat, but it’s okay. Why? I was sort of wanting to do this theme for Christmas 2015, but I guess it’ll just get bumped up a year. Last year was our “traditional” Christmas with Christmas honey ham, deviled eggs, pasta salad, salad, etc, etc.

This Christmas, with the help of the ladies at The Inn at the Crossroads, I get to do my Song of Ice and Fire tribute Christmas luncheon! I’m so excited! My in-laws won’t know what hit them!

I must apologize to my friends back East ahead of time. I know many of them are followers and fans of George Martin, and they know who I mean when I say “The Inn”. I promise to prepare one or two dishes when you visit me here in the Sin City. (You know who you are.)

Aside | This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

