A Look Back: The Other Woman

I rented The Other Woman from Redbox (freebie code! Gotta love it!) the other weekend, and I’ve been trying to decide what to say about it. Quick blurb about the movie: Wife (Leslie Mann) discovers that her husband has been cheating on her. She becomes “friends” with his girlfriend (Cameron Diaz). After spying on him some more, the pair of ladies discover a third girlfriend (Kate Upton), and together, they bring his world crashing. I got so caught up in the movie that I honestly didn’t pay attention to the grit of scenes and such… wait. I take that back. I do know what I want to talk about. As usual, *** WARNING: THERE WILL BE SOME SPOILERS. SO, IF YOU HAVEN’T WATCHED THE MOVIE AND PLAN ON WATCHING, PLEASE STOP READING. THANK YOU. ***

I was in absolute shock to see Nicki Minaj in this movie. She plays Lydia, the secretary to Cameron Diaz’s lawyer lady, Carly. My second reaction after shock was dread. I’m not a follower of Minaj, but as of late, the only thing that pops into my head when I hear her name is a lot of butt shaking. My dread was turned on its head (thankfully), and I fell for her quirky, “in your face” attitude and personality. Her loud, extremely bright attire and personality were the perfect match for Diaz’s straight and narrow, oh-so-serious character.

*pause button* Whoever was in charge of her wardrobe was crazy. Minaj’s outfits were so tight against her body, I was trying to breathe for her. Yes, the girl’s got some booty, but c’mon. She has to breathe too! Don’t get me wrong, I admired her ability to actually walk (and sit) in those clothes. The fact that she was able to cross her legs while sitting knocked my feminism off the couch. There no way I would’ve been able to do that.

The best surprise for me came from Frank, Carly’s dad, acted by Nash Bridges himself, Don Johnson. When I saw him in his first scene with Diaz, I squealed like a little girl. I used to have a crush on him as Nash, and yes, I know the age difference between him and me is ridiculous, but I got over him. (Though I did relapse during his first on-screen scene.) It cracks me up to see that he’s now in that “dad” stage of acting. It’s just weird for me to see him go from action cop to dad. I honestly can’t remember a movie I’ve seen him in between his days as Nash Bridges and this movie.

He did such a great job. He’s always had a sense of timing and comedy, and my goodness. He was such a ladies’ man in this movie. In the end, he marries Kate Upton’s young character, Amber, who is the third girlfriend of Nikolaj Coster-Waldau’s Mark King. (That cheating S.O.B.) Johnson even gets the final revenge against Coster-Waldau’s persona during the final and the ugliest conflict with a punch to the nose on the sidewalk. (see picture) If anything, I’d watch the movie again just for that punch and Johnson’s one liners.

Last but most important piece of the movie, I want to talk about Nikolaj Coster-Waldau and his womanizer role as Mark King. I adore this man for being a versatile actor. From Jaime Lannister in A Game of Thrones and the dad in horror movie, Mama, to this comedy, he nails the personality of his characters. In this movie, he’s such a pain in the butt character, and he pulls it off! He looks good, talks smooth, and is such a bad person that you can’t help but root for his wife (and 2 girlfriends).

My favorite scenes of his are after the girls start to execute their revenge plans on him. One scene is when he notices his nipples are enlarged and extremely sensitive to the touch, and he goes bonkers. He runs to his wife, played by Leslie Mann, and shows her his “issue”. She’s giggling and flicking his nipples, asking if they hurt, and he whimpers that he looks like he needs to get a bra. Another favorite scene of mine is when he’s out to dinner with Diaz’s Carly, and she pours laxative in his drink and water while he’s “taking a call”. When the meal is done and they’re about to walk out the door, the laxative kicks in, and hilarity ensues! It makes you feel bad for him and want to pee your pants from laughing so much at the same time.

Overall, I give The Other Woman:

movie clappermovie clappermovie clapper

3 out of 5 clappers
(a) Good comedy in a serious marital topic
(b) Good, strong cast
(c) Good ending twist(s)

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

