A Day in Duke’s Eyes, Part II

What happens post morning trot around the neighborhood?


 

“A Day in Duke’s Eyes, Part II”
by Elle

After a decent morning run,
I’m hungry from my fun.
“Food, mama.”

In the pantry, she fills our bowls.
The more she lingers, my hunger grows.
“Breakfast now.”

I give a yodel, and with Syren’s cry
We really sound like we’re about to die.
“Faster, mama!”

Setting our bowls down,
I say goodbye to my frown.
Chow time.

Licking my dish all clean,
I thought my eyes had seen
Two cookies.

Did my eyes deceive me?
Syren’s begging, so it must be
True; cookies!

Mama tells us to sit and shake.
Do all the tricks, and soon the cookie will break
In my mouth!

© Elle Short Stack Story Time 2014

This entry was posted in Featured, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

