Random Thought: Port of Subs

Port of Subs

 

Since my husband introduced me to Port of Subs in April 2013 – I remember because I came out to Vegas for Easter – I’ve been obsessed with the franchise. Let me tell you something. I’m a hoagie girl from the East Coast. I learned what makes a submarine or hoagie sandwich worthwhile, and I’ve been in search for my kind of sandwich west of the Rockies for nearing 3 years. * WARNING: This is MY opinion and thoughts and is not meant to persuade anyone against their favorite sandwich shop. You have been warned.*

Yes, I said 3 YEARS! Many people would tell me to just go to Subway, but I have this rule that I follow: 3 Strikes, you’re out. I got food poisoning from 3 separate Subways (Mount Laurel, New Jersey, in 2007; Knoxville, Tennessee, in 2009; and San Luis Obispo, California, in 2011), and I’ve never gone back to another Subway since. Back East, I was a major fan of Wawa hoagies in New Jersey. In Knoxville, TN, I found my favorite at Ali’s Gyro shop. (I know… weird place to find a good hoagie!) I never really found one in Central Coast, California, but I think that’s because I was too busy loving on some seafood. In Las Vegas, my husband (thank goodness for him being a Foodie too) has taken me to a handful of “chain” sandwich shops around town, and I must admit Port of Subs is my favorite.

I used to just order the Roast Beef with Provolone and pile it up with lettuce, tomato, oil, and vinegar. However, a couple of months ago, I decided that I would try a different sandwich # whenever I stepped foot in Port of Subs. I’ve had their BLT (with mayo-mustard mix), Turkey, Ham, Provolone. Yet, it wasn’t until I had their #1 (Ham, Salami, Capicolla, Pepperoni and Provolone) on wheat with mayo-mustard mix, peppers, lettuce (or spinach), tomato, onion, oil, and vinegar that I became 100% advocate for Port of Subs. There’s a kid who knows me pretty well at the shop my husband and I normally stop at, and when I ordered the #1, he was thrown off (he’s used to my Roast Beef order). When I started asking for all the fixings, he was really tossed off my order. They know how to make my sandwiches though. I love being able to see all the layers and colors, and I get an even amount of everything in every bite.

Yep. I’m a Port of Subs convert. I don’t eat there on a “regular” basis; just twice or thrice a month.

Aside | This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

