Poor College Kid: Gourmet Ramen

College: A time to figure out who you are as a person. A time to make friends who’ll be with you for a lifetime. A time to find your voice to speak out and up about topics you feel strongly about. A time to go hungry. Wait… What?

I was lucky during my first 2 years in college. My parents did the meal package deal, and I could go to the cafeteria for an “all you can eat” pizza, salad, and whatever else you wanted. No wonder why I gained that “Freshman 10”! (Which is “Freshman 30” nowadays! SCARY!) However, when it came to my last 2 years in college, I was officially living on my own and scrounging 45% of the time, and when I was in that 45%, I had to “wing it” around the kitchen.

Needed something fast, something filling, and something to warm my belly! Thanks to my newly acquired college friends, I learned a little something or two about sprucing up the 99¢ Ramen noodles from the store. There are different variances, but the following was my favorite, as it was the simplest. (That, and I usually had all the ingredients in my fridge.)

Ingredients:

  • 1 pack of Ramen (chicken or beef or whatever you like)
  • 5 fresh basil leaves, chopped into shreds
  • 1-2 eggs (I usually do 2 eggs for more protein)

Directions:

  1. Break egg(s) into small bowl and whisk (like scrambled eggs)
  2. Boil 2 cups of water
  3. Add Ramen noodles and cook until noodles are soft
  4. Remove noodles into a bowl. Keep water boiling
  5. Pour eggs into boiling water. Stir a little.
  6. Add shredded basil leaves.
  7. Boil until eggs are thoroughly cooked.

*** 2 ways: A. Ramen Soup and B. Ramen chow mein***

A. Ramen Soup

  1. After Steps 1-7 (above) are done, turn heat off and add noodles back into pot and mix noodles into egg soup.
  2. Add packet of seasoning.

B. Ramen chow mein

  1. After Steps 1-7 (above) are done, turn heat off and drain 95% of the water out of the pot
  2. Add noodles back into pot and mix
  3. Add packet of seasoning

Makes 1 serving.

*** Depending on my mood, I’ll make either way. Some times I like soup; other times I prefer just the noodles. ***

Oh! After college, I started using only 1/4 to 1/2 of the packet to lessen my sodium intake, and it still tastes the same. I think I actually prefer less seasoning.

As usual, if you have a recipe you’d like to share or recommend for me to try, please feel free to let me know via Contact Me. -Elle

This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

