Poetry to Me

The definition of POETRY according to the Merriam Webster dictionary is as follows:

po-et-ry noun \ˈpō-ə-trē, -i-trē\

  1. a: metrical writing: verse
    b: the productions of a poet: poems
  2. writing that formulates a concentrated imaginative awareness of experience in language chosen and arranged to create a specific emotional response through meaning, sound, and rhythm.
  3. a: something likened to poetry especially in beauty of expression
    b: poetic quality or aspect ¹

 

I was asked – back in 2002 – what I thought of poetry and what poetry meant to me, and I responded with a poem. I have never made this poem public until now.

“Poetry to Me”
by GMDG
(My maiden name)

It is not words on a paper
It is not letters or figures
It can not be written or drawn
It can not be heard or spoken

It is a touch of a friend
It is a smile of a mentor
It is a kiss of a lover
It is a heart beating

No understanding is needed
No mind is needed as well
Only a heart to feel
Only a soul to fly on

© GMDG 2002


 

The poem still resonates in me with a few changes. *smile* I do find it interesting that I thought that way about poetry at that age.

As the first poem to be published on Short Stack Story Time, I think it’s a good way to start Story Time: Poetry.

 


 

¹”Poetry.” Merriam-Webster.com. Merriam-Webster, n.d. Web. 19 Sept. 2014. <http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/poetry&gt;.

This entry was posted in Featured, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poetry to Me

  1. Perpetuo A. Gutierrez says:

    Poetry to me is-
    Life in black and white and
    Emotions on a piece of paper.

    from PAG III

Leave a Reply

