This or That: Washing Machine

The biggest question in my laundry universe at the moment is whether I stick to front loading washers or switch to top loading washers. I know it sounds so silly, but I’ve grown up with top loading washers, and I’ve always been a bit wary when it came to washers. I’ve gotten my share of experience with both top and front loading washers now, and this is just my two cents on the matter. *** Please note that this is a general comparison of the two washer types, and this is all my observation and opinion. I am not trying to persuade you in any form or fashion. ***

To make this easier, I’ll focus on one type at a time. I’ll start with the front loading washer, as that is what we have at the house.

FRONT LOADER:

PROS:

  • Easy for me to reach. I’m 4’10”, anything low to the ground is easier for me to deal with.
  • Buttons are in the front. Again, being short, I don’t have to stretch to press the “start” button or change settings

CONS:

  • Mold in the rubber seal area. This causes a bad odor, and while I can clean it out, it does take me 3 hours to clean it.
  • Hard for my husband to reach. He’s 6’3″ and practically needs to get down on his knees. HAHA
  • Clothes tend to get pressed down at the bottom. Gravity is an enemy for front loading washers. I put clothes in, and they like to start tipping forward and fall out instead of staying on top.

TOP LOADER:

PROS:

  • Good for tall people. My husband would enjoy a top loader.
  • Spacious. Since the latest designs remove the annoying center piece (agitator), you can actually fit more clothes.
  • Easy to clean. Cleaning is definitely a breeze with a top loader. There’s a good vinegar based cleaning method that I’ll have to share that doesn’t work very well with front loaders.

CONS:

  • Not short people friendly. I fear I’ll need my step stool again, as well as a grabber pole, so I don’t have to worry about falling into the washer. Reaching the buttons will be a ballet exercise for me as well.

As you can see, for my family, it may actually be more beneficial for us to have a top loader than a front loader. However, with this comparison, a few questions open up: What kind of top loader? Specific brand? Is there a way to make the front loader work for our family?

These are questions I’ve been trying to sort through, but at least I have a general idea in the debate between top and front loading washers.

What are your thoughts on this topic? Do you have a pro and/or a con to add for either type or both? Let me know!

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

