Trotter Sausage Potato Soup

My friend, Jenny, shared an wonderful family recipe with me that her mom taught her. It’s an excellent, hearty soup that’s great during the Autumn and Winter seasons. I asked if I could share it with everyone on Short Stack Story Time, and I got a healthy “yes” from Jenny.

Jenny says: “This one is from my mom, but I’ve changed a few things through the years for different tastes. This is my favorite soup to eat during Fall and Winter. It’s a sausage potato soup, and while I’ll tell you how I make it, there are some changes that you can make to make it your own as well. I almost always double the recipe to last for a few days and to throw in the freezer to save for a time that I don’t want to cook.”

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground pork sausage (“I usually grab one hot and one mild. Before Lily (daughter), it was two [packs of] hot, because we like things spicy.”)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 can (10 3/4 oz) cream of celery soup, undiluted ***
  • 1 can (10 3/4 oz) cream of chicken soup, undiluted ***
  • 6 potatoes, peeled and cut up into bite size pieces
  • 2 medium carrots, peeled and cut up into bite size pieces
  • 1 can (14 ox) chicken broth
  • 2 cups milk
  • shredded cheddar cheese

*** Note: “2 cans of cream soup can be used. These are the two that I use most often, but there are times I will replace one of the cans with a cheddar cheese soup for extra cheesy taste.”

Directions:

  1. Brown sausage in large Dutch oven over medium heat
  2. Stir until it crumbles and is no longer pink
  3. Drain and return to Dutch oven
  4. Add potatoes, carrots, onion, broth, and water
  5. Bring to a boil
  6. Cover, reduce heat to simmer for 30 minutes
  7. Stir in cans of cream soups and milk
  8. Simmer, stirring often, until thoroughly heated

Serve hot with a sprinkling of shredded cheddar cheese

Makes 6-8 servings (depending on bowl size)

*** If you have a recipe you’d like to share or recommend for me to try, please feel free to let me know via Contact Me. -Elle

This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trotter Sausage Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

