Elle’s Feel Better Egg Drop Soup

I’ve been sick this whole week, and I know I’m sick when I don’t want to EAT. As a Foodie, I’m always hungry for food, for recipes, for new eateries, but this week has been painful for the Foodie in me. I just haven’t had the urge to eat. I’m sick with the common cold, and it’s enough to throw off my game in the kitchen. Well, knowing that I need to get something inside my stomach, all I could swallow was liquids, and I didn’t feel like my usual go-to sick food – Chicken Noodle Soup – so I went running to my other go-to sick food – Egg Drop Soup. This soup actually has a story behind it. I got sick a month or so after I kicked my ex out, and I didn’t have the craving for chicken noodle soup, and I didn’t have a lot of food in the house. I didn’t want to go to the store or order delivery, so I went scrounging in my pantry and fridge. After I made the first batch and ate the whole thing, I was up in arms and ready to go for a walk with Syren on the Promenade.

140911_0004

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups of Chicken broth OR Vegetable broth (1 box)
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Palmful of Chives (about 2 tsp)
  • Black pepper to taste

Optional Ingredient: Shrimp or Chicken (chopped)

Directions:

  1. Bring broth to a boil
  2. Add Chives
  3. Crack eggs into a small bowl and whisk (as if you were making scrambled eggs)
  4. Drop eggs into boiling broth
  5. Add 8-10 cracks of pepper (when I’m sick, I tend to add more, because I can’t taste anything!)
  6. Stir until eggs are cooked (about 1 minute)
  7. Turn heat off and serve

Serve hot and with some crackers. I like Ritz with this soup, because it’s contrasting sweetness is great with the saltiness of the broth. (I don’t do well with too much salt.)

Makes 4 servings (NORMALLY). Makes 1 serving (WHEN SICK!)

*** If you have a recipe you’d like to share or recommend for me to try, please feel free to let me know via Contact Me. -Elle

This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

