A Look Back: College Musical

College Musical

This movie review will probably go over a lot of people’s heads, but it’s a curious movie nonetheless. I’ve been a fan of Kurt Schneider for a while (5 years is a while). College Musical is about a guy and a girl with two separate problems but end up having to deal with each other’s situation. This will actually be one of the only full movie reviews you will get from me, so with no further ado: College Musical.  *** WARNING: THERE WILL BE SPOILERS. SO, IF YOU HAVEN’T WATCHED THE MOVIE AND PLAN ON WATCHING, PLEASE STOP READING. THANK YOU. ***

First of all, for those of you who don’t know who Kurt Schneider is, he’s a young blood (younger than me), YouTube sensation, who got his start with his friend, Sam Tsui, putting up music/song covers on YouTube. One of their more famous videos was a Michael Jackson Medley, which shows (multiple) Sam Tsui singing. The editing job was superb, and you can say that I’ve been hooked ever since. Well, fast forward 5 years, and Schneider and Tsui have been collaborating with various artists in the music and television industries to the point that Schneider’s work can be seen in multiple Coca-Cola ads. However, they have not forgotten where they started, and they continue to produce amazing music/song covers on Schneider’s YouTube Channel.

KHS

A little background on College Musical: Schneider and Tsui started posting these mini episodes of College Musical 5 years ago, and it was hilarious! Songs, such as “I wanna bone my TA”, and comical yet relate-able characters pulled in a plethora of followers. However, at that time, the pair and their friends were still in college and time was – well, as in most college experiences – slim to none outside of classes and homework and college life. After 4 or 5 mini episodes shared on YouTube, College Musical practically vanished from Schneider’s Channel.

College Musical TeaserThen, in 2010, a teaser video came out, showing snippets of behind-the-scenes, and that’s when I personally learned that they placed the episodes on hold, because they were making a full-on movie. Well, the fan girl in me squealed so hard that night that I choked on my own voice. It took another 4 years (took you long enough, Schneider!) (Please ignore the fan girl me!), but the end product was so worth the wait. I laughed so hard, and I can’t believe I still remembered the words to “I wanna bone my TA”.

College Musical: The Movie was live streamed on Schneider’s YouTube Channel on September 2, 2014, at 8:00PM Pacific, before it was to go for sale on iTunes and Google Play. They had a full chat window next to the video player, where fans from around the world got to chat with each other while watching the movie. With the stage set, on to the show!

sam tsuiThe movie opens with Cooper (Sam Tsui) running into a packed auditorium wearing no pants. He then wakes up, and look at that, it’s the day of midterm exams. Cooper and his roomie (I can’t remember his name!) discuss why Cooper’s having issues in English class, and we learn that Cooper’s got a really BIG thing for his TA, Bianca. At the same time, we meet Jackie and her roomie (I’m so horrible with names! At least I have the main 2, right?) getting ready to go to the same midterm, and Jackie has a problem of her own: She’s planning on competing in the Kingston essay competition – which spoiler: Bianca has won 3 years in a row. During the midterm, we get the first song, “I wanna bone my TA,” sung by Tsui, and we get a good glimpse into the college humor this movie contains. Turns out, Cooper is daydreaming the midterm away and wakes to TA Bianca calling his name. No surprise when we find out that he failed the midterm and is called to the professor’s office.

Professor tells Cooper he needs one-on-one tutoring, and as Bianca is too busy (her snootiness really comes out in this scene), Julie ShainJackie steps in and volunteers to help. (This is where I pretend to gag at the obvious “star pupil” attempt by Jackie. I can say that, because I was her back in the day.) I really don’t want to give away all the meaty details of the movie, because I can’t do the musical numbers justice by simply talking about them, and they really are worth a listen. Why? Because it brought me back to my high school/college days of “crushes” and “dating” and simply “trying to talk to someone but don’t have the nerves or stomach to do so.” So, fast forward to the end!

Bianca’s a fraud when it came to the Kingston essay competition (and she stole Jackie’s essay!), Cooper saves Jackie during the Kingston essay competition – running into the auditorium with her private essay notebook (diary) and NOT WEARING ANY PANTS, calling out Bianca’s plagiarism. In the end, Cooper and Jackie are together, their roomies seem to be a little bit closer than normal, and oh! Bianca’s essay writer, who has “man-child syndrome” (you really ought to hear the song. It’s really worth it.), is somehow adopted into their small group.

Overall, I give College Musical:

movie clappermovie clappermovie clapper

3 out of 5 clappers

(a) Unique adaptation of college life – and spinning off of Glee and High School Musical
(b) Catchy songs
(c) Man-Child

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

