Survivalist Terriyaki Chicken

When I “play” in the kitchen, I try to come up with the easiest meal to make. You can call this my survivalist terriyaki chicken. I didn’t really want to use up all my terriyaki marinade, so I made my own. Unfortunately, I forgot I had the broccoli, so we didn’t get to eat broccoli with the chicken. Also, we were both so hungry that I didn’t get to take a picture of the end result. *laughs* It happens.

ingredients

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 tsp of garlic
  • 1/3 cup of brown sugar (light or dark)
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 palmful of chives (about 2 tsps)
  • 1/3 cup rice vinegar or balsamic vinegar (I wanted it to be a little bit sweeter, so I used rice vinegar)
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce (no need for salt!)
  • 1/3 cup chicken broth (or water)
  • 10 cracks of ground pepper

*** I’ll do the non-broccoli version, as that’s what I made. ***

I wanted to be able to walk away from this without ruining the meal, so this is actually a SLOW COOKER RECIPE!

Directions:

  1. Trim the chicken (if needed) and make slits in the chicken.
  2. Put all the liquids into the cold slow cooker.
  3. Add the brown sugar, garlic, black peper, chives and bay leaves.
  4. Give it a stir to dissolve brown sugar.
  5. Place chicken into slow cooker.
  6. Cook for 6-8 hours on LOW — or — Cook for 4 hours on HIGH
  7. Pull chicken breast apart (think jerk chicken… shredded chicken)

terriyaki chicken

Serve with rice.

Makes 2-4 servings, depending on how big the chicken breasts are. The above actually made 4 meals for my husband and myself, as the breasts were bigger than I expected. No wonder why they cost that much, but well worth the price I paid!

NOTE: According to my husband, if you want it with a little bit of heat/spice, add a health squirt of Sriracha before or after cooking. He can do it AFTER cooking as my body can’t handle a lot of heat/spice at the present time.

*** If you have a recipe you’d like to share or recommend for me to try, please feel free to let me know via Contact Me. -Elle

This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

