Survivalist Wonton Soup

Side note: I don’t have pictures *yet* but I will post pictures as soon as I make this again. This article spawned after I saw my dad share a post on Facebook for Wonton Soup. Usually, I don’t argue or have anything to say to my dad when it comes to recipes. However, I have two cents to say after looking over the recipe he shared. Not every kitchen is going to have sesame oil or chicken bouillon powder or fish sauce (which is practically a staple in all Asian kitchens/pantries), and not every beginner cooks are going to know what or how to pick out those three items (unless they just buy what’s in the store, and half the time, I don’t like what I buy). So, I’m going to dish out my Survivalist Wonton Soup that I made for Christmas 2013 as a last minute appetizer.

Side note: I say last minute, because it was literally the morning of our first Christmas luncheon, and I didn’t have a soup dish for the 5-dish course I had planned on serving. Thus, I call it “Survivalist”.

Ingredients:

For the Wontons – 

  • 1 lb ground chicken OR ground pork (I prefer chicken, but for Christmas, I used pork)
  • 1 cup chopped shrimp raw (de-veined and shelled)
  • 1 Tbs garlic powder
  • 5 splashes of terriyaki marinade
  • 1 packet of wonton wrappers

For the Soup –

  • 8 cups of Chicken Broth (2 carton)
  • 1/2 cup of sliced mushrooms
  • 1 palmful of dry chives (about 1 Tbs)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Directions:

To make the Wontons –

  1. Mix ground chicken (or pork), chopped shrimp, garlic powder, terriyaki marinade in a bowl. (I like to get hands on, so I use my hands to mix)
  2. Using a teaspoon, scoop the meat mixture and put it in the middle of the wonton wrapper.
  3. Pinch all the edges of wonton wrapper to seal the meat inside. (I tend to make little triangles like rangoons or triangle raviolis)
  4. Make sure there are no air pockets and wonton is fully sealed.

To make the Soup –

  1. Bring chicken broth to a boil.
  2. Add mushrooms, chives, and salt/pepper.
  3. Slowly drop in wontons. (I do this one at a time, so they don’t stick together.)
  4. When all wontons are in the soup, lower to a simmer.
  5. Stir occasionally to keep wontons apart.
  6. When wontons begin to float, soup is done.

Serve hot.

Serves 6-8 people. (I say 6-8, because I thought it would be enough to feed 5 people 2x, but after my sister-in-law and mother-in-law had their 2nd bowls, there wasn’t enough. So, depending on the size of the bowls… 6-8 is the safe serving range.)

*** If you have a recipe you’d like to share or recommend for me to try, please feel free to let me know via Contact Me. -Elle

This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

