Random Thought: Nadia G’s Bitchin’ Kitchen

The Canadians did it again! This time I mean it in a good way! I’m a little late to the party on this one, but I’m so happy I turned on the TV so very early in the morning this morning. There is never anything on TV at 6AM-7AM, so as I’m flipping through the channels, I thought: I need a good cooking show. Bobby’s great, Rachel’s simple, Giada’s starting to get on my nerves, and Guy’s… Guy. I want something out of left field, near the foul line. Then, I see this playful yet provocative show title: Nadia G’s Bitchin’ Kitchen, and my curiosity won out.

Nadia G Bitchin Kitchen

I was watching this loud blondie of a woman, who looked like she stepped out of a pin up magazine, cracking jokes and cooking and even giving me insider’s knowledge (“useless” background knowledge) on food stuff. She joked about food, about lovers, about herself, about food again, and I was sucked in, laughing and nodding as if we were long time girlfriends just playing around in her kitchen. What a catch for a cooking show! I need to know more about this Nadia G! (She also looked a bit familiar to me….)

In my quick glance at my phone’s Google, I find out that Bitchin’ Kitchen started in 2007 as a 3-minute bit. Then, it dawned on me where I’ve seen her before: Bizarre Foods with Andrew Zimmern. I couldn’t remember which episode, but I was sure she was on the show before. Google proved me right: Montreal episode back in 2011. Looks like Nadia’s been a busy, busy lady. Her Bitchin’ Kitchen airs on Food Network Canada (and UK) and on the Cooking Channel in the US. (What Food Network? Is she not good enough for Food Network US?)

She’s snappy, loud, and I love her no bull crap attitude towards food. I also appreciated that she didn’t sauce up the dishes she made in the episode I watched. I like it when food talks for itself.

I may have found a new cooking show. Perhaps it’s time to start dabbling in new recipes…. *evil smile*

Aside | This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

