Easy Filipino Adobo

The first thing anyone and everyone I’ve met since living on my own says to me: “Oh! You’re Filipino. Do you know how to make [fill in blank]?” 85% of the time, people ask for adobo, which is a meat only, soy sauce based stew. There are different variations, but I like to keep it simple, which is how I like to cook: simple. Most of my recipes are in the 3-7 ingredients only, and this easy Filipino Adobo has a total of six (6) ingredients (not counting the oil). 

Not everyone likes onions, and I hate cutting onions. So, this is a non-onion recipe. Here it is:

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts, diced (big bite size chunks)
6 pork back ribs, boneless, diced (big bite size chunks)
1 tsp of minced garlic
3 whole bay leaves
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup white vinegar
4-5 whole pepper OR 10 cracks/shakes of ground pepper
1 Tbs cooking oil


 

Directions:

1. Heat oil on medium-high heat
2. Sweat garlic and add meat
3. Brown meat on all sides
4. Add soy sauce, white vinegar, bay leaves, and pepper
5. Bring to a boil. 5 minutes.
6. Lower to a simmer and cover for ~30 minutes or until meat is soft. Stir occasionally.

Serve with rice.

Makes 4 servings.

*** If you have a recipe you’d like to share or recommend for me to try, please feel free to let me know via Contact Me. -Elle

This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easy Filipino Adobo

  1. Ema Jones says:

    I’m adding some garlic salt instead of garlic cloves, hope it’s fine, as I don’t wanna use garlic here directly…

    • Elle says:

      If you’d like to substitute garlic cloves, I would recommend using garlic juice or powdered garlic. the saltiness of the garlic salt and soy sauce concerns my sodium levels, and I wouldn’t want anyone to get a sodium overload.

Leave a Reply

