Hot Spot: Gigi’s Cupcakes

logo

Gigi’s Cupcakes is a nation-wide bakery that got its start in Nashville, TN. The “click” with Gigi’s Cupcakes (for me) is their rotating menu! I want share my experience with Gigi’s Cupcakes, and I want to start by saying: I used Gigi’s as my wedding cake vendor, and they nailed it!

My husband doesn’t do sweets. He doesn’t really do desserts, unless it’s ice cream or brownies. So when it came to the wedding cake, I knew I had to find something he’d eat or nibble on. At the same time, I wanted something that guests would actually enjoy. As in: Not everyone likes white cake, not everyone likes chocolate, and not everyone will eat red velvet, so we couldn’t just have a cake of one flavor, and the more tiers, the more expensive the cake. After our first cake tasting and quote ($350 for a 3 tier, 1 flavor cake to feed 100 guests plus $100 delivery), a thought dawned on me: CUPCAKES! I can have whatever flavors I could dream of and everyone will have whatever flavor they want.

I called a few places (and got outrageous quotes for 100 pieces), and I finally broke down and just used Google. All honesty, all I typed in was: cupcakes, Las Vegas, and got 56 hits. The one that really caught my eye was this tiny looking bakery called Gigi’s Cupcakes. It’s Las Vegas location on Flamingo and S Maryland was the perfect location for an easy deliver to our reception venue at UNLV campus. I told my husband the “unfortunate” news that we’re going to check out our second bakery (he thought we were 100% set on the first bakery), the sigh and eye roll said it all.

The moment I parked the car in front of the store, I heard: “Good location. Our reception is literally just 3 blocks that way.” Gigi’s 1, Other (bakery) 0.

We walked in, and Richard was the only person behind the counter, and he was working with someone else. We let him take his time with the pair, and we look over their spread of monster cupcakes and “oh look at that! They have mini cupcakes!” When Richard got to us, I gave him the “speal”: “We’re getting married… We need a cake… But we want different flavors… I’m thinking about doing mini cupcakes… Looking at 150 pieces or so… We need it delivered… down the street to UNLV.” Then, it was his turn, in which he gave us a brochure that shows the rotating menu – Gigi’s 2, Other 0 – (WHAT?! So cool!) and pointed out the pricing for mini cupcakes (by the dozen, I suddenly can’t remember the price). He suggested a cutting cake – which I was ready to throw out the window – and proceeded to ask us what flavors we wanted to try.

1522149_10152314944255479_324282548949562064_nI was expecting to taste two (2), but he kept asking, “what else?” We ended up tasting 6 different mini cupcakes, and my husband had his favorite picked out – which ended up being the cutting cake – White Midnight Magic (chocolate cake, vanilla icing). I ended up choosing Wedding Cake (white cake, vanilla icing), and just to make it lucky 3, we both chose Scarlett’s Red Velvet (red velvet cake, cream cheese icing). Gigi’s 3, Other 0.

*Pause* Gigi’s monster cupcakes are $3.50 each, and the icing may seem intimidating, but you can request for “half icing”. I’ve heard people dissing Gigi’s, saying the cake’s dry, the icing’s hard. They make the cakes fresh daily, and they can’t help it if you make your purchase at the end of the day when the cakes had been sitting in the display. My husband and I went in the afternoon around 3PM (they close fairly early on the weekends) on a Saturday, and the mini cupcakes we tried were moist, the icing was melty goodness, and if I didn’t take care of my teeth, they probably would’ve fallen out after the fourth cupcake. So rich and deep, remember: EAT IN MODERATION!

1620738_10152314944485479_1924824195004311636_nThe communication I had with Gigi’s was wonderful. Heather – I believe that’s her name. It’s been 5 months, okay?! – was quick to respond via e-mail, and I had my quote ($325) and paid for fairly quickly. Gigi’s 4, Other 0. *Pause* $325?!? For mini cupcakes?!? That’s as much as the 3-tiered cake! Wait, wait, wait. Let me get to my punch line. $325 for the following:

(a) 15 dozen mini cupcakes: 5 dozen White Midnight Magic, 5 dozen Wedding Cake, 5 dozen Scarlett’s Red Velvet
(b) 6-inch White Midnight Magic cutting cake
(c) display stand to hold the 15 dozen mini cupcakes
(d) delivery and set up on the day of the wedding

I – the bridezilla that I was when it came to food for my guests – got my 3 different flavors and a price that my budget bride wallet could easily swallow.

Overall: I give Gigi’s Cupcakes 4 out of 5 forks

forkforkforkfork

 

(a) Rotating menu
(b) Flavor
(c) Friendly staff
(d) Reasonable prices

*** Gigi Butler is the founder of Gigi’s Cupcakes, and you can find her story here. To find the closest Gigi’s Cupcakes bakery near you, click here. If you have a recommendation, I’d love to hear from you! Send me a message! – Elle

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

